The importance of doing something you like

This topic is a bit different from my usual blog posts topics, but I felt the need to write about it. This is a result of my reflections upon my personal life. Here is a bit of background story:

I am a girl that is going to study abroad, and I graduated in December 2016, which left me with approximately 8 months free. (because classes abroad start end of August). Last year, I told myself that I would work in a retail store, because I was focused on the idea of making some extra cash.

In March 2017 I got a full-time job as a salesperson in a store, where we sold clothes and shoes. I worked 5 days a week, from either 8am-20pm, or 11am-21pm. (YES, LONG DAYS INDEED). I started working and kind of liked it, because I was doing something useful with my time. After a few weeks, I started reflecting on my experience so far, and couldn’t help but think that I was hardly spending time with my family because I was working during the weekends, or that I was getting very disturbed sleep thinking about work. Also, the bags under my eyes were extremely noticeable and had a life of their own. I was only holding on to the fact that my salary was VERY good considering it was my first official job.

After a little more than a month of working, while I was making the already neat store even neater, I started thinking about all the things I could be doing instead of being stuck in the store. That is when it struck me…this is not worth it!!! It is a sign that I am not working because I want to, but because I feel the need to occupy my time with something, and I don’t even like it.

So after A LOT  of consideration and pro and cons lists…I RESIGNED. (I don’t like the word ‘quit’).

I started looking for another job, but this time a part-time job. After a month of staying home and watching Netflix, a job came up, in a edu-entertainment park for kids. My job was to be a guide to the children, explain them their tasks, monitor them, etc. I thought it was a perfect for me, because I liked working with kids and because it only occupied 5 hours of my day (4 times a week).

So I went to work.

And after a long day of work (from 10am-20pm)….I RESIGNED.

Now, you might be thinking: “Wow this girl really likes resigning”. My answer to that is: Yes, but only if that job is not for me.

After these two experiences, I learnt that I was forcing myself to do things that I didn’t like, tasks that didn’t make me happy and didn’t contribute to my self-growth. So I decided that I wouldn’t find another job, and that I would use that time to discover what I REALLY liked.

To my dismay, I still haven’t discovered what I really like, but at least I am not doing something that makes me unhappy.

Lesson: Do things that make you happy. Your thoughts will be more positive and you won’t feel as if the universe is forcing you to do something. Also, don’t force your interests. These will come when they want to, or when you find them.

I am glad that I had these experiences because now I know what really matters, and that is finding a job that makes me feel as if I am not working.

I hope this post has helped you with your personal struggles. Let me know if you liked it, and stay tuned for more posts!

Leave a Reply

